Thursday, January 24, 2013

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis Review

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe Trilogy) by Beth Revis
Amazon, Kindle, Audible Audio EditionBarnes and Noble, Indiebound
Goodreads Summary-  The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!
Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.

First, if you're reading this, I'm assuming you've read the first two books in this series because if you haven't, and you've read the premise for this book, you've already ruined the biggest surprise in the previous books. Second, there WILL be spoilers from the previous two books. And again, if you are reading this without even having read the second book, you've already read spoilers just by reading the summary. So, stop now, go back and read the first two. AH-MAH- ZING. Don't miss them!

This is it. The last one in the series. I was scared to read it. Across the Universe and A Million Suns are two of the most awesome books in a series I've ever read. The way you can't predict anything in the plot is unbelievable. The slow building romance, is achingly slow, but so amazing and just perfect. I was worried. Would Shades of Earth live up to the other two books? Could it be as BIG as Across the Universe? Could it fill the enormous expanse of A Million Suns?  Yes, Yes it could and it did and more. And now, I can breathe a huge sigh of relief because Beth Revis knows how to BRING IT! And she DID!

Oh when I opened the pages of Shades, from the beginning it was fraught with tension. Amy man, you're killing me! But I would have had her same reaction, she makes Elder wait to push the launch button. Once that shuttle leaves Godspeed, it's gone forever. And the people on Godspeed are there forever, the ones that chose to stay. It is a momentous occasion and one that Elder and Amy should have paused for, I'm glad they did. But there is  no more pausing for the rest of the book.

I'm not going to summarize the book. I'm going to tell you how Beth Revis brought it for me. Action right away and unexpectedly. I never knew when something would explode, a pterodactyl would fly down, or a dead body would be found. Always betrayal, Beth Revis is so good at lies and betrayal, really she should be training the CIA in counter terrorism. There are two people that you can trust in this book and they area the same two you've been able to trust throughout the series. Yep, Elder and Amy. And that's the other thing I love and where Beth Revis brings it. Elder- Elder screwed up really bad in the first book, but he owned up to it. That sealed my love of Elder right then and there. But let me tell you, Elder absolutely rises to the occasion and surpasses the truthfulness and integrity that he has shown in the past. He doesn't waver from his  leadership role despite those that would take that power from him. Amy too doesn't just blindly follow her father's orders or her mother's and doesn't really care if they like Elder. Amy is still Amy and I just love her. I want to be more like her. She is honest, loyal and wants the right thing to be done for the right reason. She can look at Elder's people and feel that they should be treated equal despite Orion's warning's that they won't be.

And then, Beth Revis brings it! Battles of epic proportions, the real reason everyone is there, discoveries, and Elder and Amy right in the middle possibly losing each other forever because of their loyalty and sense of duty. I thought, Oh God, I was crying. I thought Beth hadn't brought it all the way home. That not everyone would get to enjoy Centauri Earth. But Beth brought it! Emotions and Endings and I will read anything she writes, a sticky note, a torn scrap of paper, a grocery list because I am convinced that whatever she writes it will be brilliant! I am so sad to see this series end. But I'm looking forward to whatever Beth Revis has waiting in the future.



  1. Alright, I just skimmed through your review as I have still to read the second book. BUT, I need to get back to this series as everyone loves them sooo much!

    I'm just so sad about the covers :(

  2. Wow, this series really doesn't for you, huh? :) I really liked the first book but the second one was such a downer for me. I thought it read like a middle book and that's why I'm a bit hesitant to read this one. Your review makes me curious to see what happens on Earth though. So glad you enjoyed it!

  3. I have only read the first one and need to get to the second one and this one. I haven't read the synopsis and thanks for making the review non-spoilery!

    I was never totally in love with Elder so I'm so glad that I will find it in this book. I was always more thrilled with the world than the characters. Looks like that may change!

  4. I just skimmed because I have only read the first... but glad to hear that there are epic battles and good times all around.

    Happy reading with <3, Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  5. Okay. I haven't read book too but I didn't read the synopsis and then only read your last paragraph so I think I'm good to go with no spoilers:) Everyone has been raving about this last book so I'm really looking forward to getting caught up. Now I just need to make time:) Glad you loved it so much Heather!

  6. I must read this series! The first book has been on my list forever. This is the second time today that I have heard rave reviews about this book. So glad you enjoyed it and I can't wait to start the trilogy!

  7. Okay guys, sorry I couldn't answer you! I have been without a computer for four days so I haven't been able to even look at the internet and I've been feeling so out of it!!! Thanks for your comments!

    Elder has a lot more to him in this book. There are a lot more characters. A lot happening. But you have to read book two!


  8. Oh my god! I LOVED Shades of Earth and couldn't stop reading. There just needs to be another book set in space!! Thanks for your review:)

  9. I totally suck. I still haven't read book 2 even though I loved Across the Universe. My dad, however, has hounded me about this series. He has finished book 3 (since I bought it) and also said it's great. :)


This is an AWARD FREE BLOG. Thank you for understanding.
While I appreciate it, I just don't have the time to respond to them.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blog design by Imagination Designs using papers from the Fashion Passion by Irene Alexeeva