Monday, June 23, 2014

Blog Tour- The Golden Cage by Kaitlyn Davis Review and Giveaway


goldencage (1)





The Golden Cage (A Dance of Dragons #0.5) by Kaitlyn Davis


Description: 


From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones.

In the land of Ourthuro, cruelty is a way of life. The king rules with an iron fist and no one dare defy him--no one except his daughter. Princess Leena is keeping a dangerous secret, she has fallen in love with a soldier and it would mean both of their lives if her father ever discovered their affair.


But Leena will risk it all to be with the man she loves--her heart, her life, her freedom. And when her brother's birthday celebration takes a dangerous turn, Leena is forced to make a decision that will change the fate of her nation and eventually the world.

The Golden Cage is a prequel novella to The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons #1)--available now!



Free Novella:









Author Bio:
Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy. Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.



REVIEW

This is a novella but it packs a lot of "grab you" in such a small page count! A king with 12 daughters and one son. At his fifth birthday he is gifted a sword with jewels and a sharp edge and because of a small misstep by the servant presenting it to him, the little boy becomes a barbaric image of his father in one small act. It is the last act that gives Leena the push to leave with her lover. She wanted to save her half brother, keep him from being like their father, but seeing no chance of it now, she and her lover plan their escape. As you can imagine, things aren't that simple.

It's a good story, Leena reminding me of a strong heroine from other stories. For some reason it feels like this setting is in the Far East, but there really isn't a reason I can say why. Just my idea. I thought at first with the twelve sisters this would be part of a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses. No, not at all. There is the hint of political scheming going on, a barbaric and misogynistic ruler, and adventure. I've read the synopsis for the next full novel and I can't see how they are connected at all, but I am going to read it. The story is not unique, but it is compelling enough that I want to know what happens to Leena and what that next story has to do with her story.

If you enjoy fantasy, I think you'll enjoy this one. The world building has just begun but the palace, the place where Leena lives is the Gold kingdom and down it goes from there until the stone meets the ocean. I think this is going to be really good. And even the hint of dragons....I'm ready to read more.

I nabbed a free copy of this off Amazon for Kindle awhile back and it is still free as I write this. So grab it and see if you think it's a series you might enjoy. The price is good....FREE!!


                                                                     Author Links:

Giveaway:

 a Rafflecopter giveaway



















9 comments:

  1. I'm glad you mostly enjoyed it! I guess it felt unique to me, but that's all going to depend on what you've read before. I might know more once I read the full length novel, but so far I'm LOVING this world! Thank you so much for hosting a tour stop!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for joining the tour and taking a chance on my novella! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I hope you enjoy The Shadow Soul as well!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I so snagged this one. This sounds like a novella that does what it is supposed to do... engage and make you want the next one. :) Brilly review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That's a beautiful, haunting cover. I will definitely check this one out since Graceling is one of my all time favorite books. Thanks for the heads up on this one, Heather!

    ReplyDelete

  5. Great post and also very well written up.
    I enjoyed reading this great post and would planning to visit that place soon.
    Golden Triangle Tour Package in India @
    http://www.goldentriangletour.ws/

    ReplyDelete
  6. This Venice with the Eastern side is actually with child having attractive attractiveness connected with characteristics along with profitable tradition in addition to convention. It is just a host to spirituality as well as magnificence. Any traveller can offer the particular delight connected with visit as a result of a selection of getaway visit deals that offer quite a few possibilities to be able to discover the particular effective custom as well as tradition as well as idyllic natural splendor connected with Kerala.

    Tours in Kerala
    Kerala Travel Packages
    Kerala Tours Package
    Kerala Tour Packages
    Tours Packages in Kerala
    Travels & Tours in Kerala
    Holidaying in Kerala

    ReplyDelete
  7. India, well-known to its incredibility in addition to variety features marvelous what to offer you. Each time a vacationer stop by at this specific spot confirms a thing fresh as well as thrilling and also discover several ordeals though favoring an extraordinary vacation for this amalgamating position. Asia is exclusive within it is genuine good sense exactly where famous magnitude, fantastic architectures as well as braveness legendarily have got encouraged numerous international travelers.

    Golden Triangle Tour India
    @ http://www.goldentriangletour.ws/

    ReplyDelete
  8. Summers will be the better to spend stop by at Golden triangle regarding travelers together with youngsters because the future sweet desired destination invest the actual trips. Summers usually are finest with Golden triangle to travel to with the sweet yellow sand which usually obtains great throughout nights therefore leaking the actual heat specially inside days. For this reason, the folks as well as in particular spouse and children types can easily flick through several online sites so as to learn that happen to be the top along with well known sightseeing sites are generally, you need to pay a visit to within Golden triangle. Jaipur, known as this red location is the foremost town in order to wander and also go to around as a way to include look watch involving Golden triangle. Travel and leisure Team connected with Jaipur provides each need to have involving travelers by giving a good amount of features & products and services along with instruction to help approach their own pay a visit to inside finest helpful means.Golden Triangle Tour Packages
    India Golden Triangle Tours
    Golden Triangle Tour India
    Golden Triangle Tour Package in India
    Tour to Golden Triangle

    For more information visit here –
    http://support.fabfitfun.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287759-Plan-Your-Holidays-in-Golden-triangle-for-Wonderful-Holidaying-Experience
    http://support.originalpaperbacks.com/hc/communities/public/questions/201397124-Spend-Your-Days-in-Golden-triangle-for-Wonderful-Holidaying-Experience
    https://support.wazzupsoftware.com/hc/communities/public/questions/202982696-Spend-Your-Days-in-Golden-triangle-for-Unique-Holidaying-Experience
    http://help.xola.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287769-Spend-Your-Days-in-Golden-triangle-for-Remarkable-Vacation-Experience
    https://support.orderbird.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287779-Spend-Your-Days-in-Golden-triangle-for-Unique-Vacation-Experience
    https://portal.avnetcloudready.com/hc/communities/public/questions/201397134-Trip-to-Golden-triangle-for-Wonderful-Vacation-Experience
    http://help.kinderlime.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287789-Plan-Your-Holidays-in-Golden-triangle-for-Remarkable-Holidaying-Experience
    https://support.intelligentinsites.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287799-Plan-Your-Holidays-in-Golden-triangle-for-Unique-Vacation-Experience
    http://support.moblab.com/hc/communities/public/questions/200287809-Trip-to-Golden-triangle-for-Wonderful-Holidaying-Experience
    http://travel611.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/spend-your-days-in-golden-triangle-for-unique-vacation-experience/
    http://goldentriangletourws.blogspot.in/2014/08/trip-to-golden-triangle-for-remarkable.html
    http://paydaytextloansx.blogspot.in/2013/10/rapid-cash-for-emergency-financial.html?showComment=1408941939272#c1780395928285211458
    http://electricalnews.eu/ver-alemania-vs-argentina-en-vivo-final-mundial-brasil-2014.html

    ReplyDelete

This is an AWARD FREE BLOG. Thank you for understanding.
While I appreciate it, I just don't have the time to respond to them.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog design by Imagination Designs using papers from the Fashion Passion by Irene Alexeeva